Review: Mary Kay Blending Sponge – A Firmer, Better Blender

Before we get started, I just wanna address the fact that there’s lots of exciting things happening with this blog! If you haven’t yet noticed, it’s getting a bit of a makeover. I’m very excited for the things to come. For the time being, please stay connected through my new social media links!

  1. Facebook Page
  2. Pinterest
  3. Twitter

And you can now follow this blog via your email address too! You can find this feature on the side bar to your right.

Programming

Lots of things exist on a spectrum. Beauty sponges do not. Beauty sponges are either good or horrid. There is no in between. If you’re a makeup junkie (#guilty), you know this. The two main stand outs are the Beauty Blender and the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge (the one I used to use). However, almost every other brand has released a beauty sponge, and I was excited when Mary Kay announced they were going to be releasing one!

Now, if you read my MK Eye Liner Pen review, then you know that I do this weird thing where I doubt stuff before I even try it. That’s right – I judge the book by its cover. In the interest of remaining more open minded, I ordered this sponge for myself the week that it released.

MK blending spongeI was intrigued by the shape and texture. Beauty sponges come in all shapes and sizes, and I had never tried one in this shape before. And while the shape is important, the texture of the sponge is really what matters. Usually, you want a soft and squishy sponge that expands quite a bit once dampened. You want the material to be porous enough that it helps absorb excess product, but not so porous that it just drinks all your product up. It’s a very fine line to walk! Making a good beauty sponge is a tricky business – are you beginning to see why there are so many flops?!

My First Impressions

My first time interacting with this sponge was at a weekly Mary Kay meeting; my wonderful director had brought hers along for me to feel. It was…firm. Much firmer than I was expecting. I dampened it and, to my surprise, it expanded much more than I thought it would. It also felt a bit softer, but still had more resistance to it than what I was used to. I’m gonna be honest – I left that meeting thinking the sponge was going to perform poorly.

My Review

When my sponge finally arrived, I ripped the package open, quickly dampened it, and used it live on Facebook. As I pressed the sponge against my face, it was, like I said, much firmer feeling. But I immediately noticed a couple positives:

  1. It worked the product into my skin very well.
  2. It didn’t soak up a lot of product.
  3. It gave me full coverage.

And as I’ve continued to use the sponge over the last 2-3 weeks, I’ve grown to love it more and more. Firstly, I’ve gotten used to the firmer texture. Secondly, I think the sponge performs so well because of the firmer texture. Because it lacks that super soft and squishy texture, it really pushes the foundation/concealer into my skin. Thusly, my foundation never feels heavy or cakey, even though I’m getting extremely full coverage. Another plus to a firmer texture is that the sponge is much more durable. I’m predicting this one will hold up a lot longer than my other one and I don’t have to be really gentle when I clean it.

One con I’ve noticed is the shape. The pointed tip isn’t quite small enough to fit in the inner corner of my eyes. A little pinch with my fingers solves that though!

Final Thoughts

Overall, I’m thoroughly pleased and impressed with this sponge. At $12, it is fairly priced too! I’ve added one to my freelance kit as well.

Question of the Day:

Are you a makeup sponge user? If so, which is your favorite? Comment below and let me know!

Leave a comment